What Are Whole Grains?

Whole grains, and the foods made from them, contain all naturally occurring nutritious parts of the entire grain seed. That’s why they’re called whole grains. In fact, every grain starts life as a whole grain.

Whole grains are the entire seed of a plant and consist of three parts:

Germ: This is the embryo which, when fertilized by pollen, sprouts into a new plant.

Bran: The multi-layered outer skin of the kernel.

Endosperm: This is the germ’s food supply. It’s also the wheat component used for traditional white flour.

If the grain is processed (cracked, crushed, rolled, and/or milled into flour), the food product should deliver nearly the same rich balance of nutrients found in the original seed.

Traditional flour-milling techniques are designed to produce the white color and smooth texture consumers now expect. But by doing so, the bran and germ – along with their healthy components –are sifted out.

Whole Grains Are Healthy

In fact, the evidence is overwhelming.

So much so that numerous medical and government agencies can actually agree on something: Children ages four through 18 should eat between three and six servings of whole grains daily.

Whole grains can be found in muffins, cereals and bread.

They are also found in foods containing the following:

  • Amaranth
  • Barley
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn, including whole cornmeal and popcorn
  • Millet
  • Oats, including oatmeal
  • Quinoa
  • Rice (brown rice and colored rice)
  • Rye
  • Sorghum (also called milo)
  • Teff
  • Triticale
  • Wheat

Even with these options and nutritional guidelines in place the average school-age child in America consumes less than one serving of whole grain foods each day.

Because they don’t like the taste – until they’ve tried Ultragrain®.

Order a sample or learn more about the grain that make the grade, every meal.